Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open: Night One Results

Stewart Wins Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open’s Opening Night of Competition; Honda’s Grant Captures Night 1 Win in MMI AMA Supercross Lites Feature

AURORA , Ill. ( October 13, 2006 ) – Kawasaki ’s James Stewart won the Alpinestars AMA Supercross class at the Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open inside the MGM Grand Garden Arena. Stewart, of Haines City , Fla. , won the opening night of the Toyota Trifecta by winning the Superpole, Progressive Direct Holeshot Award and main event, landing him a $50,000 pay check.

Leading all 20 laps Honda’s Josh Grant, of Riverside , Calif. , won night one in the Motorcycle Mechanics Institute (MMI) AMA Supercross Lites class. CBS Sports Spectacular will broadcast the Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open Saturday, October 21, from 1:30-3:00 p.m. EST.

After banging bars down the start straight with Suzuki’s Ricky Carmichael, the defending champion, Stewart pushed his motorcycle first across the $5,000 Progressive Direct Holeshot line. Carmichael , of Tallahassee , Fla. , slid out and remounted in last place. Carmichael fought his way back to second place on Lap 18 of 25 and settled for second. Honda’s Kevin Windham, Centreville , Miss. , finished third.

“I do that every once in a while,” said Carmichael, who was three U.S. Open wins in his illustrious career. “I was just trying to put myself in a good position, but things happen. I had to take it easy on some of the left hand turns because of my shoulder. I am proud of how I came back from last night. This place is so exciting, and I will be back tomorrow night. I can be the spoiler tomorrow night.

“I wanted to get out front,” said Stewart. “It is hard to pass so I needed a good start. I focused on the start and it turned out great. I saw that I had a good gap on the first lap. This place feels like home.”

In the MMI AMA Supercross Lites class main event Grant snuck by KTM’s Josh Hansen to earn the Progressive Direct Holeshot Award. Kawasaki ’s Chris Gosselaar worked his way around Hansen, Temecula , Calif. , on Lap 4 and secured second place. On Lap 9 Hansen pulled out of the race. The win for Grant was his first-ever in Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open competition. Gosselaar, of Corona , Calif. , finished second and Yamaha’s Justin Brayton, of Murrieta , Calif. , finished third.

“I have been riding great and feel really comfortable,” said Grant. That is what it takes to win. Chris (Gosselaar) rode a great race tonight and kept me honest.”

Alpinestars AMA Supercross Class Results

   1. James Stewart, Haines City , Fla. , Kawasaki

   2. Ricky Carmichael, Tallahassee , Fla. , Suzuki

   3. Kevin Windham, Centerville , Miss. , Honda

   4. Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta , Calif. , Suzuki

   5. Tim Ferry, Dade City , Fla. , Kawasaki

   6. Michael Byrne, Menifee , Calif. , Kawasaki

   7. David Vuillemin, Menifee , Calif. , Honda

   8. Josh Demuth, Kingwood, Texas , Honda

   9. Chad Johnson, Rhinelander, Wis. , Suzuki

  10. Keith Johnson, Albuquerque , N.M. , Yamaha

  11. Brock Sellards, Sherrodsville , Ohio , Honda

  12. Cole Siebler, Emmett , Idaho , Suzuki

   MMI AMA Supercross Lites Class Results

   1. Josh Grant, Riverside , Calif. , Honda

   2. Chris Gosselaar, Victorville , Calif. , Kawasaki

   3. Justin Brayton, Murrieta , Calif. , Yamaha

   4. Jake Weimer, Corona , Calif. , Honda

   5. Sean Collier, Saugua , Calif. , Yamaha

   6. Steve Boniface, Lewisville , Texas , Honda

   7. Troy Adams, Brookville , Fla. , Suzuki

   8. Kelly Smith, Ludington , Mich. , Suzuki

   9. Matt Georke, Valencia , Calif. , Yamaha

  10. Ben Townley, Tallahassee , Fla. , Kawasaki

  11. Josh Hansen, Temecula , Calif. , KTM

  12. Eric Sorby, Lake Elsinore , Calif. , Honda

   KTM Junior Supercross Challenge

   1. Ashton Hayes, Rockford , Mich. , KTM

   2. Ricky Beaton, Holland Landing, ON, KTM

   3. Davy Pootjes, Ammerzoden, Holland , KTM

   4. Jerry Robin, Big Lake , Minn. , KTM

   5. Mark Worth, Quenn Creek , Ariz. , KTM

   6. Senett Ferris, Pacific, Wash. , KTM

   7. Rookie White, Winchester , Calif. , KTM

   8. Tyler Rosa, Mission Viejo , Calif. , KTM

   9. Jacob Edison, Woodenhaven , Mich. , KTM

  10. Tyler Kirschner, Columbia , Md. , KTM

  11. Ryan Miller, Ocala , Fla. , KTM

  12. Brandon Tolsma, Holland , Mich. , KTM

  13. Mason Bryan, Elizabethtown , Ken., KTM

  14. Troy Archer, San Diego , Calif. , KTM

  15. Jeremy Crookshank, Moreno Valley , Calif. , KTM

  16. Casey Kinney, Ukiah , Calif. , KTM

  17. Blake Green, Riverside , Calif. , KTM