Monster Energy’s Villopoto & Tedesco Help USA Win MXDN – With Coaching Help From RC!

September 25, 2006 10:46pm

The United States – led by Monster Energy’s Ryan Villopoto and Ivan Tedesco – were victorious this past weekend at UK’s Matterley Basin
CARLSBAD, Calif., (Sept. 25, 2006) – Monster Energy-backed athletes Ryan Villopoto and Ivan Tedesco, along with teammate James Stewart, captured the United States’ second-consecutive Motocross Des Nations title this past weekend at England’s Matterely Basin, topping second-place Belgium 15-22 in final team points standings.
And assisting the legendary motocross racer Roger DeCoster with USA’s coaching duties at the prestigious event was none other than Monster Energy’s Ricky Carmichael – the all-time winningest motocross racer and multi-time MXDN champion, who was sidelined due to a shoulder injury suffered at the final AMA Nationals race of the season at Glen Helen.
“I can’t tell you how happy I am for Ivan, James and Ryan right now,” said Carmichael. “And kind of relieved, too. We knew Belgium would be real strong with Stefan (Everts, the overall winner) and the guys stepped it up, put in consistent team-oriented races and we were able to bring the MXDN trophy back to the States again this year. I definitely wish I’d have been racing, but at the same time I’m pumped that Ivan could step in and help the United States win it.”
With Stewart posting 2-2 overall finishes behind Everts, Villopoto – racing his first Des Nations – dialed in his Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki KX250F and blazed to a 3-2 overall finish. Tedesco, racing a Suzuki RMZ450, held up his end of the deal as well, coming back from an injury that kept him on the sidelines for much of the ’06 Nationals season and put in two solid top ten finishes (6th and 9th) to help USA win the overall.
“Great going guys,” said Mark Hall, President of Monster Beverage Co. “All of us at Monster Energy headquarters couldn’t be more proud of your efforts. Now get out and enjoy your time off here before the start of the 2006-’07 supercross season – you all deserve it.”