Advertisement | Advertise with Us

Stefan Everts Wins Number 10

Stefan Everts has done it again and broken another record. The brilliant Belgian wripped through the opposition to capture 1-1 results and his 10th world title. At a fitting, historic and emotional stage of his home Grand Prix and favourite circuit at Namur, World Champion Stefan Everts completed a successful title defence of his MX1 crown and gave the YZ450FM its third consecutive MX1 distinction this afternoon.

photo: Geoff Meyer

"Namur has always been a very special place with a special atmosphere. It is a unique track that is hard and demanding. Both races went pretty good. At one point there was a difficult moment for me in each moto because the terrain was so bumpy, slippery and so rough. I had to be really careful because this is one of the hardest circuits in the world and you can only really appreciate it if you get out there and try forty minutes. The motos worked out well though and I am so happy for my 99th victory and the Championship. I had such an exciting feeling going out on the track and unfortunately it is my last time here but I cannot think of a better way to go out. What else can I say?"

By dominating both motos at the Citadelle for the 12th round of 15 in the 2006 FIM series the 33 year old Belgian remains undefeated every year since the inception of the MX1 competition in 2004. His tenth World Championship in a eighteen year career, achieved through 125, 250, 500, MXGP and MX1 classes, was also the sixth title in succession with Yamaha in an unparalleled streak of results and glory since 2001. In that time Everts has broken the record for most Grand Prix victories and won three classes on the same day when the 2003 season saw 125, MXGP and 650 categories run with just one moto.
The '06 campaign has been momentous for the Rinaldi-led Yamaha Intur Sports Motocross team and the new aluminium framed YZ450FM. Everts has won 21 motos in a row and all twelve Grand Prix. He now has reached a total of 99.

After a bright and sunny day of practice Sunday dawned cloudy but also warm. The track, already rough and extremely technical after the wear of practice and qualification, was a severe test of concentration and stamina for the MX1 and MX2 competitors. On the brink of history Everts was cheered on by a willing 30,000 partisan crowd and the team had both of their riders flying formation for the first two laps of the opening moto as Cédric Melotte grabbed the holeshot and led Everts. The Champion soon took control and enacted a familiar scene of drawing away from his pursuers. The second race was a repeat with Everts owning the race by forging a blistering speed in the formative stages.

The MX2 Grand Prix of Belgium went to World Champion Antonio Cairoli giving Yamaha a perfect afternoon with his first double moto success of the season and his second overall victory of the campaign.
Moto One MX1
1, Stefan Everts, Yamaha, BEL, 43'13.152
2, Joshua Coppins, Honda, NZL, 0'11.409
3, Steve Ramon, Suzuki, BEL, 0'14.665
4, Cedric Melotte, Yamaha, BEL, 0'16.980
5, Ken De Dycker, Honda, BEL, 0'19.086
6, Gordon Crockard, Honda, GBR, 0'34.115
7, Pascal Leuret, Honda, FRA, 0'54.119
8, Kevin Strijbos, Suzuki, BEL, 1'8.640
9, Javier Garcia Vico, Honda, ESP, 1'13.201
10, Wyatt Avis, KTM, RSA, 1'24.525

Moto two MX1              
1, Stefan Everts, Yamaha, BEL, 41'10.064
2, Joshua Coppins, Honda, NZL, 0'17.973
3, Steve Ramon, Suzuki, BEL, 0'28.484
4, Kevin Strijbos, Suzuki, BEL, 0'46.443
5, Cedric Melotte, Yamaha, BEL, 0'52.909
6, James Noble, Honda, GBR, 0'57.447
7, Pascal Leuret, Honda, FRA, 1'2.393
8, Manuel Priem, Yamaha, BEL, 1'14.458
9, Javier Garcia Vico, Honda, ESP, 1'23.714
10, Wyatt Avis, KTM, RSA, 1'27.292

MX1 Championship standings

1, Stefan Everts, Yamaha, BEL, 592
2, Kevin Strijbos, Suzuki, BEL, 424
3, Steve Ramon, Suzuki, BEL, 408
4, Ken De Dycker, Honda, BEL, 371
5, Tanel Leok, Kawasaki, EST, 365
6, Jonathan Barragan, KTM, ESP, 273
7, Pascal Leuret, Honda, FRA, 230
8, Cedric Melotte, Yamaha, BEL, 224
9, Manuel Priem, Yamaha, BEL, 210
10, Joshua Coppins, Honda, NZL, 202

Moto one MX2
1, Antonio Cairoli, Yamaha, ITA, 43'9.307
2, David Philippaerts, KTM, ITA, 0'2.531
3, Christophe Pourcel, Kawasaki, FRA, 0'29.378
4, Sébastien Pourcel, Kawasaki, FRA, 0'36.668
5, Marc De Reuver, KTM, NED, 0'37.729
6, Maximilian Nagl, KTM, GER, 0'38.835
7, Billy MacKenzie, Yamaha, GBR, 1'4.262
8, Rui Goncalves, KTM, POR, 1'4.687
9, Manuel Monni, KTM, ITA, 1'16.247
10, Matti Seistola, Honda, FIN, 1'18.581

Moto two MX2
1, Antonio Cairoli, Yamaha, ITA, 41'55.640
2, Christophe Pourcel, Kawasaki, FRA, 0'4.597
3, Carl Nunn, KTM, GBR, 0'6.644
4, Tyla Rattray, KTM, RSA, 0'18.363
5, Sébastien Pourcel, Kawasaki, FRA, 0'29.627
6, Gareth Swanepoel, Kawasaki, RSA, 0'39.360
7, Rui Goncalves, KTM, POR, 0'40.970
8, Aigar Leok, Yamaha, EST, 0'44.443
9, Manuel Monni, KTM, ITA, 0'45.639
10, Pierre-Alexandre Renet, Honda, FRA, 0'49.984

MX2 Championship standings

1, Christophe Pourcel, Kawasaki, FRA, 458
2, Antonio Cairoli, Yamaha, ITA, 432
3, David Philippaerts, KTM, ITA, 393
4, Tyla Rattray, KTM, RSA, 352
5, Marc De Reuver, KTM, NED, 338
6, Carl Nunn, KTM, GBR, 307
7, Billy MacKenzie, Yamaha, GBR, 264
8, Sébastien Pourcel, Kawasaki, FRA, 259
9, Tommy Searle, Kawasaki, GBR, 254
10, Gareth Swanepoel, Kawasaki, RSA, 251
37, Matteo Bonini, Yamaha, ITA, 7

Motocross & Supercross News - Racer X Online

122 Vista Del Rio Drive, Morgantown, WV 26508 | 304-284-0084 | Contact Us
©1999 - 2014 Filter Publications LLC. All Rights Reserved.
designed at: Website DesignImpulse Studios