AMA Announces Nominees for 2006 Motocross of Nations 'AMA Team USA'

June 21, 2006 8:10am

PICKERINGTON, Ohio -- The American Motorcyclist Association (AMA) has announced the results of the online nomination process for AMA Team USA, presented by Loretta Lynn's, which will compete at the 2006 Motocross of Nations, scheduled for September 23 - 24 at Matterley Basin/Winchester, Great Britain.

The final nominees, in alphabetical order, are Mike Alessi, Ricky
Carmichael, Thomas Hahn, David Millsaps, James Stewart, Ryan Villopoto, Nicholas Wey, and Kevin Windham.

Beginning this week, motocross fans can visit to vote on these eight nominees, in return for a per-vote contribution of $5.00 or more to a fundraiser supporting the team.

The members of AMA Team USA, presented by Loretta Lynn's, will be announced during the 2006 AMA Air Nautiques Amateur Motocross National Championships, scheduled for July 31 - August 5 at Loretta Lynn Ranch in Hurricane Mills, Tennessee.

Loretta Lynn's, presenting sponsor of AMA Team USA, is marking its 25th year of hosting the AMA Air Nautiques Amateur Motocross National Championships.

Often called "The Olympics of Motorcycling," the Motocross of Nations features three-rider teams from around the world competing in three races, or motos. In 2005, Team USA defeated a strong international field to take its 16th winner's trophy, its first since 2000. From 1981 to 1993, Team USA was undefeated in the Motocross of Nations, winning 13 straight times.

All proceeds from the online fundraiser will go toward supporting AMA
Team USA, presented by Loretta Lynn's. Final team selection will be made by the AMA.