St. Louis SX Results

February 18, 2006 10:14pm

Yamaha’s Reed Picks Up First Win in St. Louis and Shakes Up Point Standings in Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP/Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series

St. Louis (February 18, 2006) – Yamaha’s Chad Reed, of Dade City, Fla., put himself back into the championship hunt with his first victory of the season tonight before a crowd of 52,022 at the Edward Jones Dome. Honda’s Davi Millsaps, of Cairo, Ga., won the opening round of the Eastern Region AMA Supercross Lites.

Honda’s Jacob Saylor, of Knoxville, Tenn., won the Progressive Direct Holeshot Award to start the 20-lap main event. Suzuki’s Ivan Tedesco shot to the early lead as front runners James Stewart and Ricky Carmichael struggled with bad starts. Kawasaki’s Stewart, of Haines City, Fla., was held up in the first turn and found himself back in 12th place. Carmichael, of Tallahassee, Fla., found his fate much worse after a first turn crash caused apparent damage to his Suzuki that forced him to not finish the race.

With Tedesco out front, and Carmichael out of the race, the attention turned to Stewart, who had worked his way up to third behind Reed. Only a bike length separated each rider as Tedesco crossed the finish line to start lap 10. On the ensuing lap, Reed slipped by Tedesco and took over the top spot.

Stewart’s night took a turn for the worse a couple turns later when he spun out and crashed. It took him more than a minute to get his bike restarted, which, like Carmichael’s, had suffered major damage in the crash. The damaged motorcycle caused Stewart to finish the race on sub-par equipment; however, he did finish the race in a disappointing 17th place.

Once out front, Reed cruised to the win. Tedesco finished second while Honda’s Ernesto Fonseca, Murrieta, Calif., was third.

“Today I was horrible,” said Reed explaining his poor lap times during practice and the disappointing third place finish in the heat race. “I’ve had my head in my behind the whole season. I needed this as a confidence booster. Our whole team worked hard and I have to thank them for being patient.”

Kawasaki’s Chris Gosselaar, of Victorville, Calif., won the Progressive Direct Holeshot Award off the start of the AMA Supercross Lites main event. KTM’s Josh Hansen, of Lake Elsinore, Calif., jumped out to an early lead ahead, while Millsap began his charge through pack after a seventh place start.

Hansen held the lead until the beginning of lap nine when Millsaps made the move into the lead. Millsaps led next six laps en route to his third career win. Gosselaar was second and Yamaha’s Branden Jesseman, of New Brighton, Pa., was third.

“Unfortunately I wasn’t up front at the start, but I was able to get around traffic early,” said Millsaps. “I saw that the top guys were up front and I knew I had to pass them to get into the lead. It didn’t take me long to get used to my new bike and I guess I got it off to a good start.”

Tonight’s race will air on CBS Sports on Sunday, February 12, 2006 at Noon EST. A tape-delayed, one-hour television broadcast of the AMA Supercross Lites racing will air on SPEED on Saturday, Feb . 25 at 6 p.m. EST.

Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP Season Standings

Ricky Carmichael, Havana, Fla., Suzuki, 192
James Stewart, Tallahassee, Fla., Kawasaki, 191
Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Yamaha, 189
Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki, 155
Nicholas Wey, Dewitt, Mich., Honda, 148
Michael Byrne, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 148
Jason Thomas, Melrose, Fla., Honda, 110
Jeff Gibson, Blacklick, Ohio,, Honda, 101
Ryan Clark, Waddell, Ariz., Honda, 98
Tyler Evans, Corona, Calif., Suzuki, 81

Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series Event Results, St. Louis

Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Yamaha
Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki
Ernesto Fonseca, Murrieta, Calif., Honda
Nicholas Wey, Dewitt, Mich., Honda
Travis Preston, Hesperia, Calif., Honda
Michael Byrne, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki
Michael Brown, Johnson City, Tenn., Suzuki
Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Honda
Ryan Clark, Waddell, Ariz., Honda
Jason Thomas, Melrose, Fla., Honda

Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series Season Standings

Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Yamaha, 149
Ricky Carmichael, Tallahassee, Fla., Suzuki, 140
James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Kawasaki, 132
Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki, 108
Nicholas Wey, Dewitt, Mich., Honda, 103
Michael Byrne, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 103
Mike LaRocco, Corona, Calif., Honda, 95
Ernesto Fonseca, Murrieta, Calif., Honda, 94
Travis Preston, Hesperia, Calif., Honda, 79
Jeremy McGrath, Encinitas, Calif., Honda, 67

Amp’d Mobile Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Event Results, St. Louis

Davi Millsap, Cairo, Ga., Honda
Chris Gosselaar, Victorville, Calif., Kawasaki
Branden Jesseman, New Brighton, Pa., Yamaha
Josh Hansen, Lake Elsinore, Calif., KTM
Steve Boniface, Lewisville, Texas, Honda
Teddy Maier, Fort Dodge, Iowa, Kawasaki
Robert Kiniry, Lafayette, N.Y., Honda
Kyle Chisholm, Seminole, Fla., Kawasaki
Chad Johnson, Rhinelander, Wis., Yamaha
Kevin Johnson, Albuquerque, N.M., Yamaha

Amp’d Mobile Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Season Standings

Davi Millsap, Cairo, Ga., Honda, 25
Chris Gosselaar, Victorville, Calif., Kawasaki, 22
Branden Jesseman, New Brighton, Pa., Yamaha, 20
Josh Hansen, Lake Elsinore, Calif., KTM, 18
Steve Boniface, Lewisville, Texas, Honda, 16
Teddy Maier, Fort Dodge, Iowa, Kawasaki, 15
Robert Kiniry, Lafayette, N.Y., Honda, 14
Kyle Chisholm, Seminole, Fla., Kawasaki, 13
Chad Johnson, Rhinelander, Wis., Yamaha, 12
Kevin Johnson, Albuquerque, N.M., Yamaha, 11

Amp’d Mobile Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Season Standings

Andrew Short, Murrieta, Calif., Honda, 118
Grant Langston, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 116
Nathan Ramsey, Menifee, Calif., KTM, 107
Billy Laninovich, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Honda, 99
Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., KTM, 95
Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 94
Brett Metcalfe, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 91
Paul Carpenter, Ithaca, N.Y., Honda, 78
Darcy Lange, San Jacinto, Calif., Kawasaki, 55
Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Honda, 52

KTM Junior Supercross Challenge Results

Mason Bryan, Elizabethtown, Ky., KTM
Chase Rocke, Cottonwood, Calif., KTM
Dalton Henzler, Waxahachie, Texas, KTM
Travis West, Murrieta, Calif., KTM
Trevor McMullen, Topeka, Kansas, KTM
Corey Scroggins, Staunton, Ill., KTM
Bailey Gilbert, Market Tree, Ark., KTM
Mason Kershaw, Glen Carbon, Ill., KTM
Jacob Bailey, Waxahachie, Texas, KTM
Zachary Williamson, Owasso, Okla., KTM
Rollin Petersen, Oakfield, Wis., KTM
Nicholas Haut Woodbury, Minn., KTM
Jacob Schmidt, Springfield, Mo., KTM
Cole Cloughley, Gardner, Kan., KTM
Mitchell Harrison, Brighton, Mich., KTM

Supercross LIVE!, the only place on the planet to catch Amp’d Mobile Supercross live at home, is available for fans at every race, starting at 7:00 p.m. local time at Listen as Supercross LIVE! hosts Jim Holley and Jason Wiegandt capture the live race call, a pre-race show, a post-race show, post-race press conference, on-air industry guests and celebrities, in-depth interviews, promotions, call-ins and more. In 2004-2005, more than a three-quarters-of-million listeners logged on to Supercross LIVE!

For more information about the Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP/Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series, please log on to For media requests, please contact Denny Hartwig at 630-566-6305/e-mail at or Tony Gardea at 949-365-5750/e-mail