AMA Board Elects Smilie Chairman, Appoints Burleson

February 18, 2006 2:41pm

-- Goldfine, Long, & Sutton re-elected as corporate Directors --

PICKERINGTON, Ohio -- The American Motorcyclist Association (AMA) has announced that Dal Smilie of Helena, Montana, has been elected to the position of Chairman of the AMA Board of Directors; Andy Goldfine of Aerostich, Croft Long Of Kawasaki, and Ken Sutton of Harley-Davidson have been re-elected to serve as corporate members of the AMA Board of Directors; and Jon-Erik Burleson of KTM has been appointed as a corporate member of the AMA Board of Directors.

Smilie replaces previous chairman Rick Gray of Lancaster, Pennsylvania, who declined to seek another term as chairman in order to serve his local community as mayor. Burleson was appointed by the AMA Board of Directors to fill the seat vacated upon the recent death of Rod Bush. Goldfine, Long, and Sutton were elected during the annual meeting of AMA Corporate Members, held on Saturday, February 18, in Indianapolis.

The AMA Board of Directors consists of 12 members. Six individual Directors are elected by the general membership in their respective regions and serve three-year terms. Six corporate Directors are elected by the corporate membership and serve two-year terms. The AMA Board of Directors meets four times a year.