Jeff Northrop wins his first AX main event

February 6, 2006 10:14am

Sellards and Johnson are tied going into final stop

Jim Neese Wins AMA Arenacross Lites Main


AURORA, Ill., (Feb. 4, 2006) Jeff Northrop passed Kevin Johnson in the final turn to win his first AMA Arenacross main event.  Kevin Johnson had a great start winning the $500 Weekend Worrier Hole Shot award and led for all but the last 30 feet.  Johnson stalled his Team Faith Yamaha in the final turn.  Along the way he scored the fastest lap time of the weekend.  Brock Sellards had to put in overtime by going through the semi finals to get to the main event thus putting him on the back row for the start.  Chad Johnson was ahead of Sellards in the early going before getting loose in the whoops and dropping to 7th.  Johnson worked his way back to 3rd by the end of the race.  Sellards finished 2nd, putting the points in a dead heat going in to the last round in Denver.

In the AMA Arenacross Lites class, Jim Neese, Shawn Clark and Kevin Markwardt passed young guns Jon Paul Powell and Tolland Weems to podium.


AMA Arenacross Results


1.                  Jeff Northrop, Honda

2.                  Brock Sellards, Honda

3.                  Chad Johnson, Yamaha

4.                  Jim Neese, Suzuki

5.                  Greg Schnell, Suzuki


AMA Arenacross  Lites Results


1.                  Jim Neese, Suzuki

2.                  Shawn Clark, Kawasaki

3.                  Kevin Markwardt, Suzuki

4.                  Jim Chester, Suzuki

5.                  McFly Scheel, Suzuki


AMA Arenacross Points


     1.    Chad Johnson (7)     375

     2.    Brock Sellards (7)     375

     3.    Kevin Johnson (3)     325

     4.    Jeff Northrop (1)        306

     5.    Greg Schnell              297

     6.    Jim Neese                 281

     7.    Shawn Clark              235

     8.    Zach Ames                209

     9.    Scott Metz                  169

   10.    Jim Chester               141

Tickets are available online at,, For more information on the Toyota AMA National Arenacross Series log on to