Anaheim 2 Stats

January 18, 2006 11:58am

AURORA, Ill. (January 18, 2006) – Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP/Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series returns to Angel Stadium of Anaheim for its 40th AMA Supercross race.

Not since 2003 have three different racers won the first three rounds, this can happen this weekend.
 This will be the 40th time the gate has dropped in Anaheim. The first race in Anaheim was 12-4-76 and Marty Smith won.

Pontiac holds the all-time record for most AMA Supercross races with 46, Anaheim is second and Houston is third.

Last weekend Carmichael earned his first win since St. Louis of last season and his first win on a four-stroke.

Carmichael can become the season’s first two-time AMA Supercross race winner for the third time of his career.

Carmichael became the first rider to win at the same venue on a two-stroke and a four-stroke.

Last weekend was Carmichael’s 8th win on a Suzuki, placing him second on the all-time Suzuki win list behind Mark Barnett with 16. It was his 41st career AMA Supercross win.

Chad Reed now has 17 consecutive top 5 finishes. He scored his 46th career podium in 50 starts in Phoenix. Reed is 7th on the all-time AMA Supercross podium list; Rick Johnson has 51.

Jeremy McGrath scored his first top 5 finish since Anaheim 2 last year.  McGrath has 72 AMA Supercross wins and this weekend will be his 164th career start.

Since 2000, the first rider to win two AMA Supercross races in a season has gone on to win the title 4 times.

Since Dallas in 2005 there has not be a first-time AMA Supercross winner. Before that Reed became a first-time winner when he won Anaheim in 2003. There have only been two first-time winners in 50 races, Stewart and Reed.

Since 2000 there have been 98 races and only nine different winners of AMA Supercross races: McGrath, Vuillemin, Windham, Carmichael, LaRocco, Ramsey, Reed, Lusk and Stewart.

Carmichael is the only rider to win in Anaheim on 3 brands: Kawasaki; Honda; Suzuki.

McGrath won Anaheim on two brands: Honda and Yamaha.

Windham was the first rider to win Anaheim on a four-stroke (2004); Stewart was the second at Anaheim 1 this year.

The 1986 supercross classic between Ricky Johnson and David Bailey was 20 years ago on January 18, 1986. Bailey won the race.

Ivan Tedesco won 3 races in Anaheim in 2004; 2 of 3 in 2005; he has five wins and is the all-time winningest rider in Anaheim for the AMA Supercross Lites division.

McGrath, Windham and Stewart have won Anaheim in both racing classes.


Still waiting on a two-time winner in the AMA Supercross Lites class. It took Tedesco five races last season to pull it off.

Ramsey gave KTM their 8th AMA Supercross Lites victory last weekend.

Four- Stroke History

Honda, Kawasaki, Yamaha and Suzuki have won a AMA Supercross main event. Doug Henry (Yamaha: ’97); Nathan Ramsey (Honda ’02); Kevin Windham (Honda ’05); James Stewart (Kawasaki ’06); Ricky Carmichael (Suzuki ’06)

Riders to win a supercross on a 250 two-stroke and a four-stroke: Henry; Windham; Stewart; Carmichael.

Two Honda riders have won a AMA Supercross main event on a 250 two-stroke and a four-stroke: Ramsey and Windham.

AMA Supercross Wins by Brand in Anaheim

Honda: 19

Yamaha: 12

Kawasaki: 4

Suzuki: 4


AMA Supercross Lites Wins by Brand in Anaheim

Kawasaki: 13

Yamaha: 5

Suzuki: 5

Honda: 5

KTM: 3


Anaheim Wins by Rider

McGrath: 8

Carmichael: 6

Reed: 3


Seven first time winners in Anaheim

David Bailey: 1983

Damon Bradshaw: 1990

Donnie Hansen: 1982

Chad Reed: 2003

Kent Howerton: 1979

Gaylon Mosier: 1978

Johnny O’Mara: 1984


Supercross LIVE!, the only place on the planet to catch Amp’d Mobile Supercross live at home, is available for fans at every race, starting at 7:00 p.m. local time at Listen as Supercross LIVE! hosts Jim Holley and Jason Wiegandt capture the live race call, a pre-race show, a post-race show, post-race press conference, on-air industry guests and celebrities, in-depth interviews, promotions, call-ins and more. In 2004-2005, more than a three-quarters-of-million listeners logged on to Supercross LIVE!

For more information about the Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP/Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series, please log on to  For media requests, please contact Denny Hartwig at 630-566-6305 or e-mail at