Osborne Takes Texas, Marshall Shows Consistency

November 25, 2005 11:00am


Osborne Takes Texas, Marshall Shows Consistency
Wortham, TX (November 21, 2005) - November 19-20 was the Inaugural Bookoo Energy Fall Classic and the riders who came were treated to great weather and great racing.  It would be the Virginia native, Zach Osborne taking the overall with a 1-1 in the 125 Pro class for his piece of the $15,000 Bookoo Bucks.  Bookoo Energy teamed up with Concept Haulers, Berkey's Plumbing and Miller Electric to bring the purse to life.  Yamaha privateer, James Marshall would take the overall with a 2-2 in the 250 Pro class.
When Freestone County Raceway proclaimed itself as the brightest motocross track in the U.S., they were not kidding.  Before the Pro's would take the track on Sunday, it was the SANO Mini 4-Stroke Challenge that would give a break to the pressure that was to come on Sunday.  Under the bright lights, Andrew Clark would be the top Mini 10" Pro rider while Beau Baldwin would sweep the Mini 12" 9-17 class on his KLX110.  SANO conducted a lottery giveaway and Michael Kilbourn would walk away the lucky winner of a SANO 35mm front-end.
The 125 Pro's lined up and when the gate dropped, it was Red Bull KTM rider Zach Osborne on his #338 out front.  The entire day was perfect for Osborne except when he lost the lead on lap two of the first moto to Team Green's Brandon Fulton.  Fulton would soon loose the front end and relinquish his lead to Osborne.  From then on, the crowd was treated to a amazing display of speed by the 16 year old Osborne.  Wil Hahn would finish second overall with a 4-2 and Brandon Fulton came home third overall with a 2-4.
The 250 Pro class was graced by few more national riders to include Jeff Dement, Casey Johnson, Erick Vallejo, Wil Hahn and Zach Osborne.  Casey Johnson's day would never get going as he crashed in the Sweeper 12 pack during practice.  A wrist injury would sideline Johnson.  Osborne raced the first moto but DNF'ed while running 5th after charging forward from a 9th place start.  A steady and consistent James Marshall from Dickinson, Texas brought his YZ450F home as Vernon McKiddie on his Suzuki would finish on the box twice with a win in the first moto and a third in his second.  It was national #38 American Suzuki rider Jeff Dement that came home third overall with a 4-1.  Dement crashed on the lap one and came from 21st to 4th in his first moto.  A forceful Dement would take the top spot and never look back in his second moto.
125 Pro Results
1. (1-1) Zach Osborne - KTM
2. (4-2) Wil Hahn - Hon
3. (2-4) Brandon Fulton - Kaw
4. (5-5) Ryan Grantom - Suz
5. (9-3) Clayton Miller - Hon
6. (6-7) Austin Squires - Kaw
7. (8-6) Aaron Smith - Kaw
8. (7-9) Charles Castloo - Hon
9. (3-14) JJ Pecsok - Kaw
10. (11-8) Greg Chapman - Hon
250 Pro Results
1. (2-2) James Marshall - Yam
2. (1-3) Vernon McKiddie - Suz
3. (4-1) Jeff Dement - Suz
4. (3-4) Erick Vallejo - Hon
5. (8-5) Wil Hahn - Hon
6. (6-9) JJ Pecsok - Kaw
7. (5-11) Ryan Grantom - Suz
8. (9-8) Charles Castloo - Hon
9. (12-10) Bradley Mikolas - Hon
10. (10-12) Austin Squires - Kaw

Tom Shields
Freestone County Raceway / Miller Electrical
1615 West 24th Street
Houston, Texas  77008
713-880-5533 O
713-880-8961 F


Freestone County Raceway (FCR) Est. 2000.  Located on the 1100 acre Miller Ranch, FCR is located 1 Hr south of Dallas and 2 1/2 Hr North of Houston and is only 6 miles West of I-45.  Owner Tony Miller earned two AMA National Titles in Roadracing and Dirt Track (Eric Bostrom '97 and Jess Roeder '98) as a Team Owner.  FCR is Home to the Texas Winter Series, Texas Night Series and the Fall Classic along with numerous local area qualifiers for NMA and Loretta Lynn events.  FCR is also the brightest full length outdoor night-time motocross facility in the U.S. and provides riders a place to race at night during the Summer months without compromising vision with little or no effect.