Demuth Sweeps Night Two of Denver BooKoo AX

November 20, 2005 9:49pm

Babbitt Enxus Kawasaki Rider Takes Over Championship Points Race

Denver, CO November 19, 2005 – Advanstar – a leading provider of print, event and online media for the powersports, off-road and automotive aftermarket industries – wrapped up the third round of the K&N presents BooKoo Arenacross Championship Series Brought to you by Toyota with Josh Demuth sweeping the night taking the lead in the overall points championship.
The 250 Main Event was full of action as Tommy Hofmaster on the Sano Systems PPG Shogun Motorsports Yamaha made his way past Keith Johnson on the Subway Coca Cola Honda, finding himself in the first place spot throughout the majority of the race. A hard charge by Josh Demuth on the Babbitt Enxus Kawasaki paid off in the final laps as he overtook Hofmaster and locked up the first place finish on the night. Hofmaster finished the race in second with Keith Johnson running a consistent race ending up with the third and final podium spot.

In the much anticipated 450 Main Event, Keith Johnson was first to the first turn but Tiger Lacey on the Team BooKoo Energy Honda blitzed the whoops and grabbed the spot from Johnson with Damien Plotts on the Crossroads Powersports RRP Kawaski in tow.

Josh Woods was making a move to the front early on when he dropped a wheel of his Fun Center Troy Lee Designs Suzuki in the whoops and took a nasty fall. Woods would end up 15th on the night and dropped out of the lead in the overall championship point standings as Demuth edges him out now by 5 points.

Brad Ripple, the young gun on the Babbitt Enxus Kawasaki team, came to the line in the 450 class with a brand new KX450F that was delivered to him Saturday morning. Running it totally stock, the talented young rider recorded some great lap times on the stock bike but went down in the main ending up with an 8th place finish.

Tiger Lacey won the Dash-For-Cash beating out a pair of Josh’s, Woods and Demuth, to take home the BooKoo bucks.

Glen Sharp of Sharp Racing took home the Top Tech Award presented by the Motorcycle Mechanics Institute at each round to the top mechanic who goes the extra mile for his team. Sharp had to split engine cases and work through most of the night to get the bikes in order for Saturday’s racing and his efforts were recognized by MMI with a check for $150.

Advanstar will host the 20-class Amateur Blowout Sunday when the fastest riders in the region come out to test their skills on the BooKoo Arenacross track. Gates open at 11 a.m. Sunday with racing beginning at 12 noon. Tickets are available at the Box Office, Ticketmaster locations, online at or by calling 303-830-8497.

Round four of the series will take the racing and excitement to West Valley City, UT just outside Salt Lake City, to the E Center on December 2-4. Advance discount tickets are on sale now through Smiths Tix locations, online at or by calling 800-888-8499.

250 Main:
1. #8 Josh Demuth
2. #110 Tommy Hofmaster
3. #64 Keith Johnson
4. #221 Tiger Lacey
5. #13 Colt Humphrey
6. #99 Damien Plotts
7. #102 Shane Bess
8. #62 Travis Bannister
9. #69 Brady Sharp
10. #104 Casey Hinson
11. #94 Brad Modjewski
12. #56 Josh Woods
13. #304 Brad Ripple
14. #515 Riley Kurosky
15. #136 Dennis Jonon
16. #767 Danny Beckett

450 Main:
1. #8 Josh Demuth
2. #221 Tiger Lacey
3. #110 Tommy Hofmaster
4. #64 Keith Johnson
5. #99 Damien Plotts
6. #13 Colt Humphrey
7. #102 Shane Bess
8. #304 Brad Ripple
9. #94 Brad Modjewski
10. #62 Travis Bannister
11. #19 Ryan Lockhart
12. #136 Dennis Jonon
13. #104 Casey Hinson
14. #515 Riley Kurosky
15. #56 Josh Woods
16. #809 Kyle Calderini

Championship Points Race:
1. Josh Demuth 189
2. Josh Woods 184
3. Tiger Lacey 181
4. Tom Hofmaster 161
5. Shane Bess 156
6. Damien Plotts 144
7. Brad Ripple 139
8. Colt Humphrey 111
9. Keith Johnson 101
10. Brad Modjewski 100