Controversy Surrounds Night One of the BooKoo Arenacross in Denver

November 19, 2005 10:10pm

Extra Laps in Main Event Lead to Changes in the Finish for the 450’s

Denver, CO November 18, 2005 – Advanstar landed in Denver this weekend as the K&N Filters presents BooKoo Arenacross Championship Series Powered By Toyota lit up the Denver Coliseum for night one of the third round of competition.

The 250 Pro Main started out with #99 Damien Plotts on the Crossroads Powersports Rossini Racing Kawasaki grabbing the Holeshot with Shane Bess on his Fun Center Troy Lee Designs Suzuki and teammate Josh Woods in tow.

Plotts set a demanding pace early on and held on to the lead until the last lap when Woods made the pass and secured the first spot on the podium. Plotts would end up second and #304 Brad Ripple on the Team Babbitt Kawasaki made his way through the field to take the final podium spot with a solid third place finish.

For the 450 class, it was much of the same intensity as #62 Sharp Racing’s Travis Bannister led the field in the opening laps. Tiger Lacey on the Team BooKoo Energy SoCal Racing Al Lamb’s Honda and Bess on the Fun Center Suzuki were following closely in second and third place.

Lacey made his way past Bannister on lap 4 to take over the lead and Woods made his way past the local pro to set himself up for a challenge that would pay off later in the race. Bannister had a run in with Subway Coca Cola Honda rider Keith Johnson half way through and dropped back to 14th but had some impressive lap times and a great run on the Bannister Construction Honda.

The 450 Main Event actually ran 23 laps before the checkered flag was flown, which created a scoring issue for the final standings. Race Referee Steve Carnegie consulted with the race officials and after reviewing the rulebook it was decided that the field would be frozen at the pre-determined 20 lap mark, changing the finish order.

When the dust settled it was Lacey taking the win, Woods finishing second with Demuth putting together a great race rounding out the top three for the night.

GPS Racing’s Jeff Willoh was recording some hot lap times battling for first in his heat race when he went down in the rhythm section and was hit by another rider, ending his night early on.

The Dash-For-Cash had Tiger Lacey, Josh Demuth and Josh Woods battling once again corner to corner for the BooKoo bucks with Lacey crossing the line in front of Demuth and Woods respectively and taking home the money.

Advanstar will line the riders up again on Saturday for another full night of racing at the Denver Coliseum. Doors open at 6 p.m. for the Rock-N-Race concert and track walk open to all ticket holders and racing begins at 8 p.m. for night number two of the third round of the 12-round BooKoo series.

Gates open at 11 a.m. Sunday with racing beginning at 12 noon for the amateur blowout. Tickets are available at Ticketmaster locations, online at or by calling 303-830-8497.

250 Main:
1. #56 Josh Woods
2. #99 Damien Plotts
3. #304 Brad Ripple
4. #8 Josh Demuth
5. #110 Tommy Hofmaster
6. #515 Bradley Kurosky
7. #94 Brad Modjewski
8. #19 Ryan Lockhart
9. #726 Trever Monks
10. #64 Keith Johnson
11. #221 Tiger Lacey
12. #104 Casey Hinson
13. #13 Colt Humphrey
14. #136 Dennis Jonon
15. #919 Ricky Jurado
16. #102 Shane Bess

450 Main:
1. #221 Tiger Lacey
2. #56 Josh Woods
3. #8 Josh Demuth
4. #110 Tom Hofmaster
5. #94 Brad Modjewski
6. #102 Shane Bess
7. #99 Damien Plotts
8. #64 Keith Johnson
9. #304 Brad Ripple
10. #104 Casey Hinson
11. #69 Brady Sharp
12. #13 Colt Humphrey
13. #515 Riley Kurosky
14. #62 Travis Bannister
15. #85 James Povolny
16. #136 Dennis Jonon