Three-way tie for first in Advanstar's BooKoo Arenacross Series

November 7, 2005 12:44pm

Santa Ana, CA November 5, 2005 – Advanstar – a leading provider of print, event and online media for the powersports, off-road and automotive aftermarket industries – concluded it’s first weekend of professional racing in the new K&N Filters presents BooKoo Arenacross Championship Series Powered by Toyota with the same intensity as night one.


Round 1 of the inaugural K&N Filters presents BooKoo Arenacross Championship Series Powered by Toyota featured some of the closest and most competitive racing in years. With more than $3.5 million dollars in cash and contingency on the line, the most talented riders in the industry showed up to race for the record payout.

Opening Ceremonies hosted a tribute to all the former Arenacross Champions with Dennis Hawthorn 1986-1990, Jason Langford 1991, Robbie Reynard 1993, Jimmy Gaddis 1995-1996, Buddy Antunez 1997-2001 and Josh Demuth the 2002 and 2003 champion all in attendance to see the inaugural series kickoff.

The 250 main was filled with lots of action, none of which Team Babbitt Kawasaki’s Brad Ripple was aware of as he took an early lead and never looked back winning his first-ever Arenacross main event. Babbitt Kawasaki’s Josh Demuth, after a mid-pack start, made his way into second and challenged the leader all the way down to the checkered flag but ran out of time to make a pass on his teammate for the win. Tommy Hofmaster finished an impressive third on his Sano System, PPG, Showgun Motorsports Yamaha.

For the 450 class, it was much of the same intense down to the flag racing with Suzuki/Fun Center/TLD/PPG's Shane Bess pulling the Holeshot, but being passed on the second lap by Josh Woods on his Suzuki/Fun Center/TLD/PPG bike. Woods held off the challengers to take the first 450 main event win in the BooKoo Arenacross Championship Series. Tiger Lacy on the BooKoo Proton Oils Honda finished a close second and Bess grabbed the third and final spot on the podium.

Damien Plotts took home the money for Dash for Cash on board his Rossini Racing Products Crossroads Powersports backed Kawasaki.

The racing in Ft. Worth was met with a terrific track and a very competitive layout. With the results as they are, the record championship purse can land in anyone’s hands and the competition is sure to be just as stiff tomorrow night as the BooKoo Arenacross Championship hosts the second night of the professional Arenacross racing in the Ft. Worth Convention Center Arena.


Racing continued from the Fort Worth Convention Center Arena and offered the fans more of the close racing that was featured on Friday night with a talent-stacked field of riders chasing the payout in the Advanstar series. The track crew made some minor changes to the track that added a little different flavor and provided some additional line options. The sandy first turn made for a great spot to pass or be passed with a little kicker leading into it.

In the 250 Main Event Team Babbitt Nexus Kawasaki’s Brad Ripple let everyone know that his Friday night 250 main win was not a fluke as he held off the BooKoo Honda Proton Oils Tiger Lacey to take top honors once again. Lacey had incredible speed through the whoop section where he would make up ground on the leader but it just wasn’t enough tonight for the blistering pace Ripple set. Lacey would end up with an impressive second.

There was a major battle for the 4th place spot between Keith Johnson on the Subway Coca Cola Honda and Babbitt Kawasaki’s Josh Demuth, who was riding with an injured wrist that he suffered on Friday. Demuth was hungry for the spot but just couldn’t find the right groove to try and overtake the Honda rider but took home the Dash for Cash money on the night.

The 450 main was similar to the 250 as Josh Woods on the Fun Center Suzuki once again took the victory and set the pace with teammate Shane Bess on his heels. This set Suzuki up with a one-two punch in Saturday’s action. Tiger Lacey would finish third for the night and take the final spot atop the podium.

The Championship Points Standings are in a three-way tie with Woods, Lacey and Bess all even as the series heads to St. Charles and The Family Arena for round two of the BooKoo Arenacross Championship Series.